Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free Or Not?

By | May 31, 2017

Over the time there has been a great debate on the presence of gluten in soy sauce. The question arises if the gluten-free soy sauce actually exists or not. Many soy sauce making companies claim that the final product they produce I somewhat gluten-free but the involvement of gluten keeps on pinging the consumers. However, soy beans and wheat are the main ingredients of soy sauce and gluten is present in wheat.   It is even more interesting that many people are not aware of the fact that gluten is a termed as a general name for the proteins which are present in wheat.

Gluten, nowadays, is a basic component of many food items, even the ones you would not expect. Some people consider gluten as something affiliated with wheat, barley, rye etc. whereas it is present in most of the food which is being processed by chemical means.

Similarly, soy sauce is made by two known processes. These two methods include the chemical hydrolysis and natural fermentation. In these two processes, the breakdown of complex proteins encompassing the gluten into tiny elements such as amino acids and polypeptides.  The one prepared by the natural fermentation is recommended by researchers because of the rich taste and strong flavor whereas the sauce made after hydrolysis is usually considered as artificial and cheaper, therefore, it is largely used in comparison to the natural one.

Is soy sauce gluten free

The taste-maker of many food items, soy sauce can make the best out of many recipes. The rich taste and the strong aroma of the sauce make it perfect for many kinds of dressings and dipping. It has the capability to make the soups delicious and salads worth digging-in. However, some people, unfortunately, cannot make use of this amazing ingredient just because of the presence of gluten.

Gluten can turn out to be a villain (really) for those who have been diagnosed with certain kind of allergy caused by gluten, gluten intolerant or have another kind of diseases like Celiac Disease. These people are required to check the bottle of soy sauce before consuming it either it is gluten free or not. Similarly, many different food products are being processed including gluten in it. Hence the customers who face some kind of reaction to the products containing even the slightest amount of gluten must avoid consuming them in any way or rather look for the ones which are claimed as gluten-free.

The naturally fermented soy sauce is recommended for use to those who are allergic to gluten, as the naturally processed soy sauce is gluten free. This soy sauce is produced thousands of years ago when wheat was processed. The natural fermentation process encompasses soy beans and wheat.  The soy sauces produced by natural fermentation process are tested and do not contain gluten. Some manufacturers of gluten-free soy sauce advertise it in that way to address the targeted consumers. That’s the reason why naturally fermented soy sauce is recommended and is better in taste and smell.   

Soy sauce is basically originated from China. The history of soy sauce is around thousands of years old and started as a soy paste made from wheat grains and soy beans. It is either used as condiment or sauce. In China, the soy sauce has been classified as two main kinds known as blended or brewed. The brewed one is made directly from the fermentation process whereas the blended one includes more additives and ingredients like shrimps, tuna etc. These sauces are used in almost every recipe of China and hold an entire heritage of taste. The natural method of fermentation, however, takes many years for enriching the flavors of soy beans and wheat, but the end result is going to be mouth-watering.

Soy sauce or soya sauce has been an important ingredient in many Asian cuisines. Some of the cuisines where soy sauce is used as a major ingredient encompass Korean, Thai, Japanese, Chinese and Indonesian cuisines. All these regions have their own kind of soy sauce. This variety is ranging from dark to light colored sauce and thick and thin sauce in regard to consistency of sauce. Each cuisine type makes the best out of soy sauce depending on the culture and preference of people living in that area. For instance, Chinese use soy sauce in almost every recipe and also use it as a table condiment. In Thailand, soy sauce is made in many different varieties which differ in the richness of flavors and aroma. Across the world, the restaurants use soy sauce as table condiment as well.

The tantalizing aroma of soya sauce makes it even more loved by the people living in China and a major attraction for tourists in terms of food that smells heavenly. Some people who are allergic to gluten found in wheat tend to avoid soya sauce. These people make use of the alternative of soy sauce known as Tamari. This sauce known as Tamari is originated from Japan. It is made from the soya beans only. It does not contain any amount of wheat in the preparation of sauce. Hence a lot of people use Tamari.

Doe soy sauce have gluten in it?

Tamari and Soy sauce might look similar but these two sauces have plenty of differences. One of the major differences includes the presence of wheat in soy sauce whereas Tamari does not include wheat or barley. Hence the soy sauce is considered as not gluten free. People also consider tamari as gluten free soy sauce. Both taste quite different.

Tamari is used more in Japanese food and has a richer and dense flavor. It is found as darker than regular or basic Soy sauce which is originated from China and has subtle salty taste than tamari. Tamari and Soy sauce are used widely in continental dishes. Tourists also love using these as table condiments. Tossing soy sauce on dishes makes it even more scrumptious!

According to many nutritionists, soy sauce holds numerous of health benefits. It is well-known that Chinese soy sauce includes ten times the antioxidants of red wine. It helps in prevention of the cardiovascular diseases. It is rich in flavor and smell is strong enough to tempt one!

Some soy sauce samples might be containing carcinogen named ethyl carbamate, a Group 2A carcinogen. Talking about the other healthy advantages of soya sauce how can we miss out on the fact that soy sauce is well stocked with lactic acid bacteria and is known as an amazing anti-allergic potent, now look how ironic is that while some people may be allergic because of gluten others enjoy the abundance of flavors blended in one sauce.

Unlike Tofu and edamame, the products of soy, soy sauce does not include the level of isoflavones which are found in other soy products. According to USDA, A serving of 100 ml of soy sauce contains:

  • Calories: 60
  • Carbohydrates: 5.57 g
  • Sodium: 6g
  • Fibers: 0.8 g
  • Fat: 0.1 g
  • Protein: 10.51 g

Soy sauce comes in a wide range of varieties. It can be thick or thin sauce in terms of consistency whereas the color of the sauce varies from the darkest to lightest regionally as well. The Indonesian soya sauce is the darkest in color which is made from the black soy beans. It is also the richest in flavors and is known as ketjap manis.  The sauce is made from the fermentation of the soy beans, salt, water and wheat flour, this sauce forms a basic ingredient in Japanese, Chinese, and other Asian cooking.

Along with the making of sauce from soy, there are certain myths related to the products made from soy. Some people, despite the lightened information by medical science, tend to believe these myths even nowadays. Some of the common and most believed myth about soy is the increase in the rate of breast cancer. People believe that if the soy products are consumed in high rate, it elevates the rate of cancer in breasts among people. It is however shocking to know that eating soy actually lowers the rate of breast cancer, this has been proved by many types of research.

Some people also believe in the myth that all soy foods are made from genetically modified organisms. This is shown in many research and study that is incorrect to say all soy products are genetically modified. Some are organic and naturally fermented.      

In many different dishes, soy sauce plays a vital role in making the taste during cooking. It is also present on dinning tables as a condiment. This ingredient is very versatile and a must-have for the kitchen cupboard. Many people prefer making use of this sauce and giving their food an exotic punch of flavors. Similarly, this sauce is available across the world. The uses of soya sauce in herbal treatments are also known. The bountiful tang in the soya sauce makes it delicious and worth putting in food recipes.

Is soy sauce gluten free or not?

Either you want to toss soy sauce on the potato fries or marinate the chicken in the soya sauce, the taste is so mouth-watering. It requires a great taste to love the taste and strong aroma of soya sauce. Many dishes are made heavenly after putting the magic ingredient that is soya sauce.

Let us now discuss some finger-licking food recipes which contain soy sauce:

Knowing about the amazing Travel Chicken noodles with soy sauce as the name itself depicts that traveling along with the yummiest of foods with you. This recipe includes ingredients as rice noodles,  cooked chicken strips, some  stir fried vegetables (capsicum, carrot and cabbage),  finely chopped ginger, garlic clove that too chopped, here comes the magic ingredient 1 tablespoon of dark soy sauce, dried chili flakes which is optional, freshly grounded black pepper and serving with coriander.

Method to make this recipe is simple as 1 2 3. It requires a bowl and put all ingredients in it and on the lid. After stirring and mixing ingredients simply add boiling water to the mixture and cover it. after around 5-10 minutes, remove the cover and add chicken in it. Stir it nicely. And serve with a handful of coriander on top. Yummy, isn’t it?!

And how can we forget the amazing Thai Soup which includes soy sauce as the condiment- tastemaker. Let us now go through this well-known recipe. The ingredients required for this recipe are cooked chicken cubes, boiled noodles, some olive oil, Thai green curry paste, vegetable stock and salt & black pepper and soy sauce as a condiment.

The method is easy-peasy, you are required to boil the vegetable stock and put noodles in it. After 5-10 mins put green curry paste, olive oil and salt pepper. Give it a boil and stir well. And right before serving, add chicken cubes already cooked. Add soy sauce to bring wonderful taste to Thai Soup.

Another recipe that is made delish by making use of soy sauce is the dressing of salads. Many salads are given life after tossing sauces on it. Some common and most-liked sauces include soy sauce, honey and mustard sauce and Thousand Islands sauce etc. these sauces are used to marinate meat and as dressings on salads.

Either you toss soy sauce on the salad of fresh vegetables or use it as a dip for French fries. People make use of soy sauce whichever way they like. This sauce is delicious and carries a unique tangy taste along it that makes the recipes amazing and mouth-watering. The taste-producer of numerous nourishment recipes, soy sauce can make the best out of numerous dishes. The rich taste and the solid smell of the sauce make it ideal for some sorts of dressings and dips. It has the relish to make the soups scrumptious and servings of mixed green vegetables worth diving in. However, a few people tragically can’t make utilization of this astonishing tastemaker due to the presence of gluten.

At the end, soy sauce is just an amazing ingredient originated from China that will make your food delicious. The aroma alone can attract one towards the dish provided soy sauce is the magic ingredient!       

Image Licensing

Shared under Creative Commons – https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

Jaysin Trevino – https://flic.kr/p/6oQCFm

Hiroyuki Ishizawa – https://flic.kr/p/7ksq7B

Matt MacGillivray – https://flic.kr/p/6jzjWQ